4th of July and Liberty

Today, we celebrate the 241st birthday of the United States of America and the signing of the Declaration of Independence. The spirt of this document was a monumental step in governance and the ideals of what “man” is entitled to. This document was created by men far more experienced than any person on the planet to this date. They knew the perils of government. They knew what “man” was entitled to. They gambled their lives and fortunes on what they knew was an act of signing their own death warrants. They did this for their fellow “man” and for future generations – not for themselves. That is why I’m running for Governor. I feel it is my duty to honor the brave men that started this nation by standing up for what they risked their lives for. I feel it is my duty to stand up for you. Like you, for years, I avoided getting into politics. I never set out to be a politician. In full disclosure, I’d much rather spend my time coaching sports, earning a living, and spending time with my family, but the time has come for me to step into the seedy disgusting world of politics to serve you. God built me in a certain way. He didn’t insert me into this world to be a billionaire – he meant for me to serve my fellow “man.” I’ve served my fellow “man” at lower levels as an athletic coach, community mentor, volunteer firefighter, and as a U.S. Marine. As difficult as a life in service is, I am called to it again. This year, I’ll give you as much of my being as I can muster to provide you with a real choice for Governor of NJ. I’m here to serve you. Use me as you will.

My opinion is that the most penetrating verse to the Declaration of Independence is as follows:

“…all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness. — That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government, laying its foundation on such principles and organizing its powers in such form, as to them shall seem most likely to effect their Safety and Happiness.”

Life:
No one – that includes your government – cares more about your life and your family’s life than you do. Your life and your family are your most precious possession. Money, power, prestige, property, can all be lost and re-gotten, but life cannot. To those ends, it is my belief that there is no one more responsible for protecting such life than that of the one in possession thereof. If I am elected Governor, I will protect that right to defend life by nullifying most of the weapons laws of NJ with mass pardon power. We will revert to federal standards of self-preservation.

Liberty:
The basis of your liberty is you freedom of speech. All other liberties will quickly vanish without it. A government that suppresses your speech is in total control. You were not meant to be controlled. The natural state of human is freedom. When someone tells you that you can’t do something, you become hostile. We don’t want a state of hostility here anymore. We want to live and let live. We want to be free to do anything that we want so long as we don’t hurt anyone. It pains me greatly to see the government abuse its power by incarcerating political prisoners like Ed Forchion. Ed never hurt anyone, but yet he’s rotting away in Mercer County Jail for exercising his free speech against some powerful well connected government agents. If I am elected Governor, no matter what you say in adversary of me, I give you my word, you will not be thrown in jail for speaking out against me.

Pursuit of Happiness:
Happiness is not a right. The Pursuit of Happiness is. It is up to the individual to figure that out for themselves. One man’s pursuit of happiness might be another’s mortal sin. It is not the government’s business to decide what is permissible lifestyle or chosen profession. It is not the governments business who you marry. It’s not the government’s business what you put in your body. It’s not the government’s business what you collect. Most people would agree that working half the year to pay the government is a forced pursuit of enslavement. I want you all to live your life the way you see fit so long as you don’t hurt anyone. Go fourth and LIVE for you only have 1 life.

Right of the People to Alter:
It is the duty of the people to change their government if they see it does not work for them. We are in those times. Taxes are too high. We are required to comply too much with too trivial things. In the coming weeks, I will present to you a new form of government – A new way of doing things – A government that will better serve you and stay out of your way. It is my hope that you will embrace this concept and join me in the peaceful revolution that will transform not only NJ, but this world.

People have rights. Governments need to have strict limits. How did that ever get reversed?

Stay safe this July 4th. I hope to meet you all.

Semper Fi,
Pete

Leave a Reply

